Ok, we can all breathe easily again; Debra Persey has emailed the Beth Din, and the chocolate's ok, the chocolate's ok!!! hurrah!
We have been aware for many years that whey can be a by product of cheese-making and that, even today, animal rennet can be used in its manufacture. Since whey derived from this source contains only trace amounts of rennet, it is permitted according to halacha. There is therefore no problem with any of the Materfoods products that are currently on our approved list. Kind regards, Elisheva Elisheva Wieder Kashrut Researcher London Beth Din 735 High Road London N12 OUS Tel: 020 8343 6332 www.kosher.org.uk